South Africa Shark Watching

Molo, Sawubona, Dumela, Avuxeni, Lotjhani, Goeie Dag, Hello.

Welcome to new look of South African Consulate General Hong Kong SAR, PRC and Macao SAR, PRC.

Thank you for visiting our official website, we hope you will find the information useful, whether you are planning to visit South Africa or are interested in remaining current with the activities of the South African Consulate Hong Kong SAR, PRC & Macau SAR, PRC.

Consul General
Mr Madoda Ntshinga

Read More

Hours and Holidays

All services are provided by appointment only. Appointments are made online. Make Appointment

Note: Individuals coming to the South African Consulate General for consular services are required to wear protective masks prior to entry. Masks are not available at the Consulate. You will not be allowed entry without a mask.

Visa Services

Starting March 20th 2020, the South African Consulate General in Hong Kong SAR and Macau SAR/PRC, is suspending all routine immigrant and nonimmigrant visa services. Consulate will resume routine visa services as soon as possible, but we are unable to provide a specific date at this time.

Civic Services

Applications by appointment only. Visit our Make Appointment page to request or cancel an appointment for civic services.

Note: There is no waiting area available in the consulate. Applicants required to attend exact appointment time given.

Note: Visits to the South African Consulate General for consular services will be strictly by appointment only. Make Appointment

The Consulate General is Mondays, Tuesdays Wednesdays, Thursdays fridays between 10:00am - 12:00pm.
The office may be closed on Hong Kong and South African public holidays. Please contact the consulate general to confirm opening hours or refer to Holiday Schedule for 2020 section.

South African Citizens in need of immediate consular assistance should contact the Consular Services Unit at +852- 39263400 during regular working hours (8:30 am to 5:15 pm Monday-Friday).
For arrests, hospitalizations, deaths or other emergencies involving South African citizens outside of these hours, please call.

Emergency Consular services are available on a 24-hour basis. For emergency services, you may contact the Chief Directorate: Consular Services during office hours and the DIRCO's Operations Room in Pretoria at the telephone number (012) 351-1000/0035 after-hours. Officials at our Operations Room will liaise with the Chief Directorate: Consular Services, which will be available to provide guidance and assistance after hours and over weekends.

The following list includes all official holidays (both South Africa and Hong Kong) for 2020.

  • 1 January Wednesday: New Year’s Day(SA/L).

  • 25 January Saturday: Lunar New Year's Day(L).

  • 27 January Monday: The third day of Lunar New Year(L).

  • 28 January Tuesday: The fourth day of Lunar New Year*(L).

  • 21 March Saturday: Human Rights Day(SA).

  • 4 April: Ching Ming Festival(L).

  • 10 April Friday: Good Friday.(SA/L).

  • 11 April Saturday: The day following Good Friday(L).

  • 13 April Monday: Family Day(SA), Easter Monday(L).

  • 27 April Monday: Freedom Day(SA).

  • April 30th Thursday:Birthday of the Buddha(L).

  • 1 May Friday: Labour Day (SA/L).

  • 16 June Tuesday: Youth Day (SA).

  • 25 June Thursday: Tuen Ng Festival(L).

  • 1 July Wednesday: Hong Kong Special Administrative Region Establishment Day (L).

  • 9 August Saturday: National Women’s Day (SA).

  • 10 August Monday: Public holiday (SA).

  • 24 September Thursday: Heritage Day (SA).

  • 1 October Thursday: National Day (L),

  • 2 October Friday: The day following the Chinese Mid-Autumn Festival (L).

  • 16 December Wednesday: Day of Reconciliation (S.A).

  • 25 December Friday: Christmas Day (SA/L).

  • 26 December Saturday: Day of Goodwill (SA/L).

SA - South Africa Holiday

L – Local Holiday